In April when she was almost 7mos old Addison first said "Mama" shortly followed by "Dada." Her next word was "no." Then she started saying "baby." She would point to photos that she was in and ones in baby magazines I have and say "baby." We were amazed at how smart she was. We then realized that she thinks all pictures are "baby." It took us awhile to realize because she is in almost every photo we have out in the house. We are still amazed at how smart she is :)
Now it seems like she is saying a new word almost every day. One day when the two of use were in the car she copied every animal sound I made. I would say "The cow says Mooooooo." Addison would say "oooooohhhh." "The cat says meow." She said something like "meow meow." "The chick says peep peep." She said "peep peep" ...this went on and she tried to copy every sound I made. I was kind of shocked and wondered if it was just a fluke so I told Andy when he got home. He started doing the same thing and she copied all his sounds too so we knew it was more than a coincidence.
Every time she hears the garage door go up she excitedly says "Dada!" One day she even said "Hi Dad!"
She also points to our nose and says "nose."
She knocks on doors and the wall and says "knock knock."
She points at the dogs and says "no no." (This is copying her Dad and Mom who yell at the dogs when they bark.)
She says "Dawg" when she sees dogs outside (At the zoo she thought a lot of the animals were dogs:) We're working on teaching her the difference.)
Some of the other words she says (or tries to say) are:
- button
- down (We are trying to teach her to say this so she can let us know when she wants put down rather than just squirming to get our of our arms.)
- belly (She loves belly buttons. It's so funny!)
- airplane
- ball
- Buster (comes out as Buber.)
- Bye-bye (as she waves)
I'm noticing a theme with the "b" words :)
I need to do a better job of writing them down because I am sure there are some I am forgetting.
1 comment:
She is beautiful, Kristin! Wish we could have a playdate :) Hope you don't mind me skulking around your blog. It's a nice way to "catch up" with you....it's been awhile again! :)
Post a Comment